Placement Week One at Real Life Productions

Week one at Real Life Productions, I did honestly really enjoy myself on this placement the first thing I did upon arriving was to be assigned my own work station for the next two weeks and was asked to join in one of their meetings that morning although where they discussed what need to be completed and ready to go out to broadcasting house at the BBC and also what finishing an reviewing now at this point I had not actually been given a job so I did just sit there quietly and took notes, during the meeting however I was given the job to log footage shot for Social Care TV  on the subject of Safeguarding in a care home the footage consisted of various interviews with staff, relatives of residents and residents themselves now at first I thought this job was slightly strange at because I always thought shots were logged during the filming process with the time stamped down and small review of what had been said and whether it was good or bad and the camera never stopped rolling even when the producer was talking to the interviewee about the next question and what kind of answer he was looking for, now these bits really did interest me listening to the producer actually talking to the interviewee about the answer they should give because I have never actually seen this been done before but I can see why because the questions are all based around one subject the producer and the audience will not want to come back to the same point over and over so the producer is trying to control the answers in order to keep the subject moving forward and not getting stuck in a loop as it were, but the other advantages to this that I saw were that it relaxed the interviewee allot more because they knew what the next question was going to be and how they were going to say because the producer talked to them about their answer rather than they just been given a question. Now logging footage at the production office was a very new concept to me like I said earlier was I had an idea of what I needed to do but I am told each production office has their own format for log sheets in this practically production office I had to transcribe the questions and answers between interviewer and interviewee and logging all the time codes (Hours, Minutes, Seconds, Frames) not exactly word for word but I had to stick close to. also that week at Real Life Production I asked to do some development research for a uncommissioned BBC inside sport programme, Real Life Productions were putting together to pitch to the BBC where I had to find out various facts about this subject impractically the history of the subject for this I sourced a huge amount of data from the internet, books and magazines high lighting and reading though lots of articles on the subject and annotating where and why I thought it would be relevant to the subject this really improved my research skills I felt by organizing all the data I had collected into importance and how it was relevant. Although I can’t say anything about the idea all I can say it was I found really interesting and I really liked finding interesting things out about the subject for the development of an idea and help in way for the idea to evolve.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About michaelmoore32

An aspiring director and designer of films and visual effects. I love creating various media products of all shapes and sizes. I have recently gone on to broadening my horizons looking towards interactive media which including video mapping as away to display work and also as an advertising platform for products. Check out some of my work on my Blog,YouTube and also follow me on Twitter where I will keep you up to date on work I am currently working on and I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

Posted on May 6, 2011, in Placement, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

