Horror movie making magic

Myself and four students from both Bournemouth university and the arts university decided to shot a short horror film so armed with a cannon 5d, lights and a tripod we began, but first we needed a story the idea was this would be all improvised by just using the set which in this case was a house with let’s say a few interesting features.

The idea was to challenge ourselves to make short film that would be free flowing and organic the films we would keep the basic horror format but the actions of our actress would change because we want certain things in shot we want to show how objects can influence mood and actions. I found the whole process fun and challenging i never worked off the cuff before and i always like to plan my shots out before a shoot, but i did learn quite a bit in terms of camera work and story telling turning a camera tripod into a Steadicam rig to get some very nice shots. i can not wait to see the final product once it has been edited together.

and here is the first rough edit of the yet to be titled film in which i was cinematographer i do also have a cameo appearance in the short film, anyway I do hope you enjoy it also check out more of F/1.2 video on the Vimeo Channel  http://vimeo.com/stormsen

About michaelmoore32

An aspiring director and designer of films and visual effects. I love creating various media products of all shapes and sizes. I have recently gone on to broadening my horizons looking towards interactive media which including video mapping as away to display work and also as an advertising platform for products. Check out some of my work on my Blog,YouTube and also follow me on Twitter where I will keep you up to date on work I am currently working on and I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

Posted on July 20, 2011, in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

