Adding the 4th Element

Adding a 4th element to the gaming world is the next step to adding to the gaming/cinema experience, I have been reading an article on the daily mail website written back in 2009, the article I find extremely interesting and am wondering how I can create and add this system to a installation which will comeplty capsulate the audience with out using the scratch card like the ones used in the recently released film “Spy Kids 4D”. In an article below from the Daily Mail it discusses how the Ministry of Defence is part-funding a project in which foul smells are released into the air during training videos so that recruits literally learn to sniff out trouble. Now I am particular interested in how this technology has moved on from it’s then infant state.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-1183465/I-love-smell-napalm-Xbox-How-games-future-simulate-real-stench-battle.html

An it has a company called “Scent Sciences” have devlopt and are bringing to market the “ScentScape” an innovtive digital scent delivery system which rather looks like a toaster and it due out sometime this year and is priced at a very reasonable $69.99 but what I am most interested in is the developers kit which is retailed at  $995.00 you can find out more on there website.

http://www.scentsciences.com/index.html

 (Time 3.58)

About michaelmoore32

An aspiring director and designer of films and visual effects. I love creating various media products of all shapes and sizes. I have recently gone on to broadening my horizons looking towards interactive media which including video mapping as away to display work and also as an advertising platform for products. Check out some of my work on my Blog,YouTube and also follow me on Twitter where I will keep you up to date on work I am currently working on and I look forward to hearing your thoughts.

Posted on October 4, 2011, in Future Cinema, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Like it! Interesting concept- there’s a few developments around particularly through Universal so definitely a good topic!

Leave a Reply

